gen_86.1.gif
gen_87.1.gif
gen_97.1.gif
gen_112.1.gif
gen_114.1.gif
gen_92.1.gif
gen_93.1.gif
gen_95.1.gif
gen_96.1.gif
gen_122.1.gif
gen_130.1.gif
gen_159.1.gif
gen_179.1.gif
e-mail me

Sports Committee


Youth Programs

 

Girl Scouts  | Sports Comittee | YAMS



The Good Shepherd Sports Program is committed to building character through various sports activities by seeking to strengthen the values of fair play, teamwork, and commitment. A goal of the program is to provide children with the opportunity to grow physically, socially, and mentally by working and competing in team sports. The Program's mission is to instill in the children of the community the ideals of good sportsmanship, honesty, courage, and respect for authority, so that they may be well adjusted, stronger, happier children; and will grow up to be good, decent, healthy, trustworthy citizens.

The Good Shepherd Sports Committee conducts programs in baseball, softball, basketball, swimming, and bowling for the children of the parish. Each sport is headed by a Manager who coordinates the volunteer staff and reports to the Executive Board.

There is widespread participation in all of the sports. Baseball and softball involve approximately 400 children and 50 volunteers; basketball (including clinic) 400 children and 50 volunteers; swimming (including clinic) 300 children and 50 volunteers; and bowling 125 children and 40 volunteers. Competition is held with other schools (through the CYO and BCBA) and at the intramural and clinic levels. The primary emphasis of the program is on the participation and development of all of the children.  The officers serve three-year terms.

General open meetings are held the second Tuesday of every month.


Visit us at www.goodshepherdsports.com.

2013 / 2014 Sports Committee
President: Robert Clemente bobby@goodshepherdsports.org
Vice President: Ed McKenna ed@goodshepherdsports.org
Treasurer: Eileen Langan eileen@goodshepherdsports.org
Secretary: Margaret Langan margaret@goodshepherdsports.org
Basketball: Rudy Lopez Rudy@goodshepherdsports.org
Baseball: Bobby Clemente bobby@goodshepherdsports.org
Bowling: Jo Ann Garomo joann@goodshepherdsports.org
Softball: Edward McKenna ed@goodshepherdsports.org
Swimming: Mary Burns mary@goodshepherdsports.org
Tee Ball: Keri Calvo keri@goodshepherdsports.org
Volunteer 
Coordinator:
Mike Mckiulliffe
Fundraising
Coordinator:
Sue Stefko
Fundraising
Coordinator:
Kathleen Tompkins kathleen@goodshepherdsports.org
 Fundraising
Coordinator:

Dennis Murphy Dennis@goodshepherdsports.org